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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Introduction

The State of Ohio has contracted with Prometric to perform continuing education (CE) provider and course review
services on behalf of the Ohio Department of Insurance (the Department). Prometric handles all transactions and
inquiries for approving providers and courses.

Education Providers are required to submit course schedules and rosters electronically via the Department’s online
CE Provider Portal. Please see the Education Provider Portal User Guide, located on the Department’s website, for
more information.

Providers may call Prometric at 800.742.8732 or visit Prometric’s website at www.prometric.com for information
relating to provider and course review and approval. Providers should contact the Department at 614-644-2665 or
visit the Department’s website at www.insurance.ohio.gov for questions relating to course schedule and roster
submissions.

Agent Continuing Education (CE) Credit Requirements

Resident agents with a major lines license will be required to complete 24 credit hours of continuing education, 3 of
which must be approved as ethics specific, prior to renewing their license. The license must be renewed every 2
years by the last day of the agent’s birth month.

Resident agents with a title license are required to complete 12 hours of CE, 10 of which must be approved as title-
specific and 2 of which must be approved as ethics-specific, prior to renewing their license. The license must be
renewed every 2 years by the last day of the agent’s birth month.

Resident Surety Bail agents are required to complete 7 credit hours of CE, 6 of which must be approved as surety
bail bond-specific and 1 of which must be approved as ethics-specific, prior to renewing their license. The license
must be renewed annually by the last day of February.

Resident and Non-Resident Viatical Settlement Brokers are required to complete 15 credit hours, all of which must
be approved as Viatical-specific credit. The license must be renewed every 2 years by the last day of March.

Resident agents holding a major lines license and title license are required to complete 24 credit hours of CE, 10 of
which must be approved as title-specific and 3 of which must be approved as ethics-specific. Both license types must
be renewed every 2 years by the last day of the agent’s birth month.

Resident agents holding a major lines license and surety bail bond license are required to complete 24 credit hours
of CE, 12 of which must be approved as surety bail bond-specific and 3 of which must be approved as ethics-specific.
The major lines license must be renewed every 2 years by the last day of the agent’s birth month and the surety bail
bond license must be renewed annually by the last day of February.

Ohio non-resident agents (excluding non-resident Viatical Settlement Brokers) who have met the CE requirements
in their home state, agents who hold only a Limited Authority license or agent who have been granted inactive status
by the Superintendent are exempt from the CE requirements.



http://insurance.ohio.gov/Agent/Documents/Gateway%20Account%20Set-up%20for%20Providers.pdf
http://www.prometric.com/
http://www.insurance.ohio.gov/

Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education

Provider Information

These requirements have been adopted by the Ohio Department of Insurance. See Page 44 for information
about violations and penalties.

neral Information and R iremen

Organizations providing insurance CE for Ohio credit must be reviewed and approved by Prometric. You may apply
as a provider when you send your first course for review.

1. Prometric will review provider and course applications within 30 calendar days of receipt. Therefore, providers
are encouraged to submit completed applications at least 30 calendar days in advance of the initial course
offering.

2. Providers must designate one person as the authorized provider official. This person will be the individual
responsible for the provider's compliance with the continuing education regulations, including but not limited to
obtaining provider approval, course approval, verifying instructor qualifications, providing course schedules,
monitoring course attendance, administering examinations, responsible for Department’'s Education Provider
Portal accounts, submitting course rosters and fees to the Department and providing any other documents
required by the Department. The authorized provider official must supply and maintain an accurate email address
which will be used as the primary source of communication with the provider.

3. Providers MUST use the identification numbers assigned by the Department for all provider and course
documents, rosters, schedules and completion certificates.

4. The approval of a provider and course shall be from the date of approval through December 31 of the same year
in which approval was granted. Provider and courses must be renewed annually thereafter.

5. Prometric will send renewal notifications to providers no later than September 30" each year. All requests for
provider and course renewals must be completed and returned to Prometric no later than November 30" each
year.

6. Any provider who does not timely renew and whose authority has expired must submit a new provider and course
application(s) and required attachments before offering or holding any course(s) after the expiration date.

7. A provider must not represent that they have been approved to offer CE courses in Ohio until written approval
has been issued.

8. In advertising or promoting itself or any of its courses, a provider shall not make any representation or statement
that is false, deceptive or misleading.

9. If several courses are offered together, all advertising and promotional materials must separately identify each
approved course, the respective number of CE credit hours for each course approval, and the topic for which
each course is approved.

10. A provider’s refund policy must be clearly and conspicuously disclosed in all advertising and on all printed
promotional materials.

11. Providers must comply with the Equal Employment Opportunity and Americans with Disabilities Act.
12. Providers must make their course materials (outlines, syllabi, handouts, etc.) available to students.

13. Allinstructors must meet the minimum requirements as outlined on page 9. Providers shall be prepared to provide
evidence of such qualifications to the Department, or its designee, upon request.

14. Providers must submit the date, time and location of each classroom or distance learning course through the
Department’s Education Provider Portal at least 10 days prior to course presentation/offering. The provider
must immediately notify the Department of any course cancellation or any changes in the date, time and/or
location. Please refer to page 41 for more information regarding the Education Provider Portal.

15. Providers MAY NO ollect or maintain records of Social Secu numbers o jden
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28.

Providers must maintain accurate attendance records for each course, including the exact time of arrival and
departure for each attendee, agent name, signature and National Producer Number (NPN). Only students meeting
minimum attendance requirements may receive credit for course completion.

In addition to the NPN and agent name, providers must obtain the following information during registration:

e Attestation from each agent that they will complete the course themselves and without improper
assistance of others; and

e Agent’s signature. Electronic signature is acceptable.

Providers are required to report course completion rosters within 15 calendar days of course completion using
the Department’s Education Provider Portal. The roster must include the name and National Producer Number
(NPN) of each student and the number of requested credits per student. Please refer to page 41 for more
information regarding the Education Provider Portal.

Agents will earn credit only once for a course completed in the same renewal cycle regardless of the number of
times the same course is taken. However, the agent may take the same course again and receive credit once in
a subsequent compliance period. The provider is still responsible for submitting duplicate course completions to
the Department but course hours must be entered as zero (0).

Providers must distribute course completion certificates to all individuals who meet the requirements of the CE
course within 10 days of the conclusion of a course.

All course completion certificates must contain the following information (See sample of a course completion
certificate on page 40):

e Student name and National Producer Number (NPN);

e Course name and identification number;

o Date the course was completed or date the association credit activity was earned;
¢ Number of credit hours completed by each student;

e Provider name and identification number; and

¢ Signature of a provider representative. (Provider signature may be facsimile stamp, electronic, or wet
signature.)

The course completion date for association membership credit shall be based on the date the provider received
a written request from an agent requesting association membership credit pursuant to Ohio Administrative Code
3901-5-01 or the date of the association activity, whichever is later. Providers approved to offer CE credit for
association membership shall not submit association membership credit based on an agent’s act of joining the
local, regional, state or national professional insurance association.

Providers must be able to verify who attended and completed each course for a minimum of four years following
the completion of a course.

Providers must keep all records pertaining to their Ohio CE activities for a minimum of fouryears.

Providers approved to issue association membership credit must be able to verify active participation by those
members granted such credit for a minimum of four years following the completion of the calendar year in which
credit was granted.

The Superintendent, Prometric and/or its designees may audit a provider’'s records and courses at any time,
without prior notice. An audit may include, but is not limited to, classroom course instruction, course materials,
instructors’ presentations, course records, records of examination, attendance rosters and other aspects of
instruction. Providers must not interfere with auditors while they are conducting or attempting to conduct an audit.
Audits will be conducted with a minimum of disruptions. Providers agree that auditors may attend any course
offered for the purpose of the audit without paying any fee. Providers grant Prometric and the Department the
right to audit and/or inspect these records at the premises of the provider or at the physical location of these
records.

By applying to be a provider offering CE courses in Ohio, the provider must read and understand the laws and
regulations of this state. Review Ohio Revised Code 3905.481 and the following Ohio Administrative Codes 3901-
5-01, 3901-5-02, 3901-5-03, 3901-5-04, 3901-5-05, 3901-5-06, and 3901-5-09.

A list of approved providers is available at www.insurance.ohio.gov.



http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3905.481v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/3901-5-01v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/3901-5-01v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/3901-5-02v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/3901-5-03v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/3901-5-04v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/3901-5-05v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/3901-5-06v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/3901-5-09v1
http://www.insurance.ohio.gov/

Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Instructions for Completing the Ohio Provider Application

Provider Name
Print or type the full legal name of the organization.

Address

Physical Address: Provide the complete physical street address, including ZIP code, of the location at which
continuing education records will be maintained. The physical location may not be a post office box.

Mailing Address: Include the provider's mailing address if it is different than the physical address. Mailing address
may be a post office box.

Contact Information (Phone number, Fax number and Email address)
Include the phone number, including the area code, for students to contact the organization. Also provide a fax
number and e-mail address.

FEIN
Include the provider's Federal Employer Identification Number.

Provider Website Address
Include the provider's URL.

Names and Titles of Owners or Officers

List the name and title of each individual who has a significant financial interest in your organization. For partnerships,
list all partners. For corporations, name all officers, as well as any shareholders, who have a 10 percent or greater
interest.

Type of Organization
Check the type that best describes your organization. The “Other” category is intended to cover organizations that
do not fit into the listed categories. If you use the “Other” category, briefly describe your organization.

Previous Names and Locations

If your organization has ever operated under a different name, list all names. If a sole proprietorship or partnership,
indicate the names of all training companies for which the proprietor or any partner has been a proprietor, partner or
held at least a 50 percent ownership interest. If a corporation, for each owner who holds at least 50 percent of the
voting stock, please list all training companies for which any of these owners has been proprietor, partner or has held
at least 50 percent of the voting stock.

Fee Option
Select one of the following fee options:
» Flat fee $1,000 annually with unlimited course submissions

» Individual fee $100 per provider and $40 per course annually
= Limited fee  $25 per provider and $25 per course annually with a limit of 3 courses of no more than
3 credits each

Providers must elect their fee option status at the start of each year; if a provider changes its fee option status during
the year and a different fee is due, the new fee will be in addition to previous payments with no credit for the prior
payments.

Providers may use the Fee Worksheet on page 35 to prepare payment.



Authorized Provider Official

Provide the name and title of one individual with whom we should communicate for all business matters. This person
must have the authority to execute agreements on behalf of the provider. The authorized provider official is the
individual responsible for the provider’'s compliance with Ohio’s continuing education regulations as outlined on page
4,

Facsimile Signature
You may provide a facsimile signature stamp for the Authorized Provider Official here if you intend to use a signature
stamp for course applications, roster submissions and course completion certificates.

Provider Official Contact Information
Provide the phone number, including the area code, and email address where the Department or Prometric may
contact the Authorized Provider Official.

Signature/Certification

The Authorized Provider Official must sign the provider application, certifying that the applying organization will abide
by all Ohio laws and Department of Insurance regulations, policies and guidelines regarding insurance continuing
education.

Submission
Submit applications and fees to Prometric by either secured email or mail.

Secured Email:
Submit the completed provider approval application and the appropriate fee in the form of credit card

authorization (American Express, Visa or MasterCard) to: ceprocessing@prometric.com

Mail:
Submit the completed provider approval application and the appropriate fee in the form of a company check,
cashier’s check, or money order to:

Prometric Operations Center
Attn: Continuing Education Processing
7941 Corporate Drive
Nottingham, MD 21236

If the provider submits an incomplete application, the application will be returned with a letter indicating the areas that
must be addressed. If the requested information is not received by the response due date, the filing will be considered
abandoned. All fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.


mailto:ceprocessing@prometric.com

Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Ohio Provider Application

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE. PHOTOCOPY AS NEEDED.

Provider Name Leave Blank
Physical Address
City State ZIP Code
Mailing Address
City State Zip Code
Provider Phone #: Fax #: Provider E-mail Address:
Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN): Provider Website Address:
WWW.
Names and Titles of Owners or Officers: Name Title
Type of Organization: o Professional Organization o Training Company o Other

(check one)
o Insurance

Agency/Brokerage/
Wholesaler

o College/University/Tech

o Insurance Company

Have you operated under any othername? [ Yes O No

If yes, provide previous names:

Fee option (see instructions for details):
o Flat fee
o Individual Fee
o Limited Fee

Authorized Provider Official Section

Authorized Provider Official Name:

Facsimile Signature Stamp of Provider Official (optional)

Authorized Provider Official Phone #:

Authorized Provider Official E-mail Address:

Provider Official’s Signature

Date of Signature

OHP-01 (rev 6/2018)



http://www/

Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education

Course Information

These requirements have been adopted by the Ohio Department of Insurance. See Page 44 for information
about violations and penalties.

neral rse Information and R irement

1. Prometric will review course applications within 30 calendar days of receipt. Therefore, providers are encouraged
to submit completed course applications at least 30 calendar days in advance of the initial course offering.

2. Credit(s) will only be awarded to agents for courses that have been approved for Ohio continuing education
purposes.

3. Each course must be a minimum of one credit hour and in increments of whole or one-half credit hours. No course
will be approved for more than 21 credit hours.

4. Fifty minutes will qualify for one CE credit hour. Breaks, introductions, lunches, announcements or other non-
instruction time do not qualify for CE credit.

5. No misleading course titles. The title may not cause an individual to believe the course is approved for a course
topic other than what it has been approved for.

6. A course must be offered and presented as approved. Providers may not change a course’s content or outline
without prior written approval. Failure to obtain written approval in advance of the course may result in a denial of
CE credit for the course.

7. No course may be advertised or otherwise promoted as appropriate for Ohio CE credit until it has been approved
in writing. If a course application has been submitted, but approval not yet granted, all promotional materials must
clearly state that the course may be denied or approved for fewer credits thanrequested.

8. Promotional or advertising material to be used must be submitted with the course application. The advertisement
shall include:

[0 Provider name and course title as they appear on the application;

Number of Ohio-approved CE credit hours;

Approved course topic

If exam is required in order to receive CE credit;

No guarantees that the student will pass a required exam;

Level of course difficulty (basic, intermediate or advanced);

No false, deceptive or misleading statements; and

The provider’s refund policy.

9. The authorized provider official is responsible for verifying that instructors meet the required minimum
qualifications. Providers must provide evidence of such qualifications to the Department upon request. Instructor
information does not need to be submitted to Prometric for approval. Instructors must meet one of the following
gualifications:

0 Hold a post-graduate degree in insurance or a related field or one of the following professional
designations: CLU, ChFC, FLMI, LUTCF, CPCU, CIC, RHU, or REBC;or

[0 Have four years of experience as a full-time employee or licensed agent interpreting or explaining
insurance policy contracts and in addition, hold one of the following designations: CEBS, CLTC, CSA,
LUTC Graduate, FIC, AU, INS, AAI, AIC, ARM, AIPA, AIM, ALCM, APA, ARP, AIAF, AMIM, AAM, ARE,
or AFSB or holds an associate’s or bachelor’'s degree with a specialization in insurance; or

[ Have seven years of relevant experience.

[0 Instructors must be knowledge in the subject that they teach.

[0 Any person who has had administrative action taken against a professional license or registration shall
disclose such action to the provider prior to instructing a course. If the provider wants to use this person
as an instructor, the provider must notify the Department immediately upon receipt of such information.
This person shall be ineligible to serve as an instructor unless written approval has been granted by the

9
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Department.
10. A list of approved courses is available at www.insurance.ohio.gov.
11. After a course has been approved for at least four years, a full review of the course may be required. This full
review may include the submission of a new course application, course outline, and other course application

documents and information. This may result in a new course number, change in approved topic, or number of
approved credit hours.

10


http://www.insurance.ohio.gov/

lect] deli | Definiti

12. Insurance Topics and Course Concentration:
Only one type of course concentration may be selected per application. Multiple applications must be submitted
if a course training session includes more than one type of course concentration.
0 General
Course concentration that is all encompassing. Covers topics related to insurance industry that are
not specifically singled out by Ohio law, such as ethics, title, etc. Courses related to the business of
life, health, property, casualty, etc. as well as insurance law are examples of course topics that fall
under this concentration type.
[0 Ethics
Course that reinforces an agent's ethical competence, contributes to an agent's understanding of the
complexities of ethical decision making in the insurance industry, and provides tools to help an
insurance professional identify, prevent and constructively resolve ethical dilemmas.
Examples of acceptable ethics topics include, but are not limited to: Code of Ethics or
Professional Ethics, Ethical Decisions, Professional Judgment, Business Ethics, Ethics regarding
Senior Citizens, Unethical Sales, Foundations of Professional Ethics, Fundamental Principles in
Ethics, Duty & Respect, Morality or Right vs. Wrong Decisions, Honesty, Fairness, Professional
Competence, Unfair Trade Practices, Components of Ethical Systems, Due Diligence, Consequences
of Unethical Behavior, Moral Reasoning, Core Values, Ethics and the Law, Cheating, Corruption,
Corporate or Individual Criminal Behavior, Consumer protection and Insurance Fraud.

0 Title

Course specifically related to title business.
00 Bail Bond

Course specifically related to bail bond business.
0 LTC-4

Course that meets the refresher long-term care insurance guidelines as required by Ohio Revised
Code 3923.443.

0 LTC-8
Course that meets the initial long-term care insurance guidelines as required by Ohio Revised Code
3923.443.

0  Annuities
Course that meets the annuity-specific education guidelines as required by Ohio Administrative Code
3901-6-13.

0 NFIP Flood
Course that meets the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (“FEMA”) National Flood Insurance
Program “NFIP” training requirement necessary for agents to sell flood insurance.

[0 Viatical Settlement
Course specifically related to Viatical/life settlements and Viatical/life transactions as required by Ohio
Administrative Code 3901-9-03.

13. Course Difficulty Levels:

[0 Basic is a course designed for entry level agents or agents new to the subject matter.

O Intermediate is a course designed for agents who have existing competence in the subject area and who

seek to further develop and apply their skills.

00 Advanced is a course designed for agents who have a strong foundation and a high level of competence

in the subject matter.
14. Course Instruction Methods:

0 Classroom means course activities occurring in real time at a specific time, date and place and delivered
in person, such as, but not limited to, a seminar or workshop by a qualified instructor. Classroom courses
do not require an examination but attendance must be monitored by use of sign-in/sign-outsheets.

O Distance Learning means the method of instruction delivered in real time and presented by a qualified
instructor in which the agent and instructor are in different physical locations and interact with each other
through various methods of telecommunication including, but not limited to, video/teleconference, internet
conference, virtual class or webinar.

11
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0 Self-Study (Interactive and Non-interactive) means the method of instruction that is delivered or

presented without an instructor and which does not require a student to attend an organized class but does
require the passage of an examination and/or frequent interaction with courseware as a condition of
progressing through the course material. Self-study courses can be interactive or non-interactive. This
includes, but is not limited to, correspondence, online, video, audio, CD or DVD.

lifyi . I .

15. For courses/programs of instruction to qualify for approval, they must:

0]
O

OooOoooogd

O

Contribute to the professional competence of an agent;

Have significant intellectual or practical content to enhance and improve the insurance knowledge of the
participants;

Offer knowledge to the benefit or protection of the consumer;

Course outline must include obvious connection to insurance. Implied connection will not be accepted,;
Be offered by an approved provider;

Be submitted using the appropriate application form and with the appropriate fee for each course;

Use the most recent forms filed in Ohio, editions and laws to the extent possible;

Include methods which will be employed by the provider for the improvement of the course;

Include a bibliography of reference sources; and

Meet all other Ohio CE laws.

16. The following subjects/topics may/may not qualify for CE credit approval:
The subjects/topics provided in the below sections are not all inclusive. Providers are encouraged to provide
as much information as possible to prove that their course topic relates to the business of insurance.

CoNooa~WNE
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11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24,
25.
26.

The followin | topics m lify:

Actuarial mathematics, statistics and probability — in relation to insurance
Assigned risk — in relation to insurance

Claims adjusting and procedures

Courses leading to and maintaining insurance designations

Employee benefit plans — in relation to insurance

Errors and omissions — in relation to insurance

Estate planning/taxation — in relation to insurance

Ethics — in relation to insurance

Financial planning — in relation to insurance

. Fundamentals/principles of insurance (including but not limited to: annuities, crop and hail, life, accident and

health, property/casualty [P/C], etc.)

Fundamentals/principles of Title insurance

Insurance accounting/actuarial considerations

Insurance contract/policy comparison and analysis

Insurance fraud

Insurance laws, rules, regulations and regulatory updates
Insurance policy provisions

Insurance product-specific knowledge

Insurance rating/underwriting/claims

Insurance tax laws

Legal principles — in relation to insurance

Long-term care/partnership

Loss prevention, control and mitigation — in relation to insurance
Managed care

Principles of risk management — in relation to insurance

Proper uses of insurance products

Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA) — in relation to insurance

12



27. Restoration — addresses claims, loss control issues and mitigation — in relation to insurance
28. Retirement planning — in relation to insurance

29. Securities — in relation to insurance

30. Suitability in insurance products

31. Surety bail bond

32. Underwriting principles — in relation to insurance

33. Viatical/life settlements — in relation to insurance

Other topics that contribute substantive knowledge relating to the field of insurance and expands the competence of
the licensee.

The followin lect iCs may n lify:

Clerical functions

Computer science

Computer training/skills or software presentations

Courses on investments — stocks, bonds, mutual funds, Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA)/U.S.
Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) compliance (National Association of Securities Dealers
[NASD]/SEC), etc.

5. Courses that are primarily intended to impart knowledge of specific products of specificinsurers

6. Customer service

7. General management training

8

9
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Goal-setting
. Health/stress/exercise management
10. Marketing/telemarketing
11. Motivational training
12. Company and vendor-specific product launches
13. Office skills or equipment or procedures
14. Organizational procedures and internal policies of an individual insurer
15. Personal improvement
16. Prospecting
17. Psychology
18. Recruiting
19. Relationship building
20. Restoration — promoting products or services
21. Sales training
22. Service standards or service vendors
23. Time management

Other topics or courses not related to insurance knowledge or competence of the licensee.

Classroom Courses

15. Providers must inform the Department of the date, time and location of each classroom course at least 10 days
prior to course presentation. The provider must immediately notify the Department of course cancellation or any
changes in the date, time and/or location.

16. A sign-in/sign-out sheet is required for all classroom courses. The attendance sheet must include the course
name and number, the date and time of the offering and the exact time of arrival and departure of each attendee
along with each attendee’s signature and National Producer Number. Break-out sessions must have separate
sign-in/sign-out sheets, if all sessions not approved. A sample sign-in/sign-out sheet may be found on page 38 of
this packet.

17. Partial credit may be awarded for partial attendance of a classroom course at the discretion of the provider.
Rosters must include the student’s name, NPN and the number of credits to be awarded. The course participation
fee must be paid as if the student attended the entire class. Credits must be rounded down and in one-hour

13
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24,
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26.

27.

28.

29.

30.

31.

32.

increments. The provider’s refund policy must disclose the policy on partial credit. A provider is not required to
provide partial credits.
Students attending classroom courses in preparation for a professional designation exam may receive credit for
either the classroom hours or exam, but not both.
Utilize only instructors who are qualified according to Ohio’s instructor guidelines. See page 9 for the minimum
gualifications.
CE credit may be awarded for organization or association meetings. An approved Ohio CE provider that is
affiliated with a national association or organization may file a course application and submit rosters for annual
association meetings conducted by the national (not local) association or organization. The following
requirements apply:

¢ The course application must be submitted before the meeting.

e The provider shall determine the method of attendance verification.

¢ No course application fee will be charged but the roster fees must be paid.

Distance Learnin r

The title of the course must clearly state that it is a distance learning course.

Providers must inform the Department of the date, time and location of each distance-learning course at least 10
days prior to course presentation.

The provider must immediately notify the Department of course cancellation or any changes in the date, time
and/or location.

Must be designed such that students actively participate in the instructional process by utilizing techniques that
require substantial student interaction with the instructor, other students or a computer program. The course
design must not permit the students to sit passively and observe instruction or read instructional material.

Students should be able to submit questions or comments at any point during the course. A student cannot be
capable of independently completing the course.

The provider must have a process to determine when a student is inactive or not fully participating, such as when
the screen is minimized or the participant does not answer the polling questions and/or verification codes. No less
than three methods of interactive activities must be asked at unannounced intervals during each one-hour course
session to determine student attentiveness.

The provider must have a representative who monitors attendance throughout the course and that the student
receiving the continuing education credit actually performed all of the work required to satisfactorily complete the
course. When a student is deemed inactive or not fully participating, credit must be denied. The provider must
inform each student in advance of course participation requirements and the consequences for failing to actively
participate in the course.

Utilize only instructors who are qualified according to Ohio’s instructor guidelines. Students must be able to
interact in real time with qualified instructor(s). See page 9 for the minimum instructor qualifications.

Have appropriate instructor and technical support to enable students to satisfactorily complete the course. The
provider must maintain an electronic roster to include records for each student’s log-in/log-out times. Chat history
and interactive responses should be captured as part of the electronicrecords.

Utilize procedures that provide reasonable assurance of student identity and that the student receiving the CE
credit actually performed all the work required to successfully complete the course. A provider may administer
exams to agents for the purpose of verifying participation and evaluating the effectiveness of the distance learning
course, but passage of an exam shall not be a condition for advancement to a subsequent section of the course
or successful completion of the course, unless the course is part of a national designation program which requires
the passage of an exam.

Provider must provide students with an orientation or information package that contains all necessary information
about the course subject matter and learning objective; procedures and requirements for satisfactory course
completion, special requirements with regard to computer hardware and software or other equipment; and the
availability of instructor or technical support.

No partial credit shall be granted for courses approved as a distance-learning course.

14



If-St - Non-Interactiv [

33. Non-interactive self-study courses must include a non-proctored final examination.
34. All course materials, including each version of the proposed final examination(s) and answer key, are required

35.

36.

37.

38.
39.

40.

41.

42.
43.

44,

45,

to be submitted with the application. Credit hours will be determined by the estimated time it will take a student
to study the material, adjusted by the percent of the course content that is acceptable as CE.
e Self-study exams must contain at least 10 questions for each hourrequested;
e All questions must be in the form of four-alternative multiple choice format;
e Multiple choice options must have only one correct response;
e Multiple choice answers must be grammatically consistent and parallel in form to eliminate obviously wrong
answers;
¢ No correct answer to one guestion shall provide a clue to the correct answer or any other questions in the
chapter/section questions or final examination;
Questions shall be clearly written;
Questions shall adequately cover the course material set out in the course outline;
Answers to the questions shall not be in a discernible pattern; and
Final exam questions must not duplicate any unit/chapter questions.

A self-study course that includes a final examination shall have at least enough questions to fashion a minimum
of two versions with at least 50% of the questions being new/different in each subsequentversion.

The provider shall require each student to enroll in and pay for the course before having access to the course
material.

A provider shall prevent access to the course unit/chapter questions and final exam before the student reviews
the course materials.

A provider shall prevent downloading and printing of any course unit/chapter question and finalexam.

Non-interactive self-study courses must include a non-proctored examination at a site approved by the provider
to receive credit, only upon course completion.

Providers must be able to prevent the issuance of a student affidavit until the course and course examination is
successfully completed. Affidavits may be administered and signed electronically.

Credit may only be allowed if the student receives a grade of 70 percent or greater on the examination.
The completion date for a self-study course will be the date the exam was graded by the CE provider.

Details on how the examination materials are to be returned to the provider must be included in the instructions.

Providers offering self-study courses must have qualified instructors available to respond to questions within 48
hours by telephone or email.

Self-study courses presented via the Internet must adhere to the same requirements as other self-study methods.
The same affidavit requirement for students is in effect. Providers must provide Prometric with the means to verify
the exam procedures.

1i- ly - : i
Interactive Online courses are, by definition, only presented on the Internet and do not require a final exam. In
addition to providing Prometric with the means to view the course online, you must submit all study materials with
the course approval application. The materials may be in the form of paper, diskette, CD or other electronic
medium. This course type does not require an exam.

Your course submission should include documentation showing how the course meets the basic requirements,
including:
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Provide viewing access to the online course at all times to the Department and Prometric.

Provide course outline and justification as to the number of credits requested for the course in accordance
with Rule 3901-5-03.

The number of questions that appear at the end of each chapter or section.
A sample of the questions.
References from the questions back to the text, if requested, and the answer key.

46. The basic requirements for an interactive online self-study course include:

Be designed to prevent the student from completing the course in a time unreasonably short when compared
to the credit hour total approved for the course.

Be available 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. Minimal down time for updating and administration will be
permitted.

Provide clear instructions on how to navigate through the course.

Provide a series of questions after each unit/chapter. All questions must be answered correctly prior to
proceeding to the next unit/chapter. The material can be reviewed while answering questions.

Include reinforcement response when a question is answered correctly (e.g. pop-up screen).
Include a response when a question is answered incorrectly. Examples are:
e Respond with the correct answer and explanation in a pop-up screen;
e Reference back to the section/screen of the question; etc.
e Have the ability to go back and review any unit at any time.
e Provide automatic bookmarking at any point in the course.
Provide a course evaluation at the end of the course. The evaluation shouldinclude:
e What the student thinks about the online method of learning?
e What the student liked the most about online learning?
¢ What the student disliked the most about online learning?
e Would the student recommend online study to others?
¢ Open-ended comments/questions.
Include information as to the minimum system requirements.

Include a statement that the student information will not be sold or distributed to any third party without prior
written consent of the student. Taking the course shall not constitute consent.

Provide some type of encryption. All personal information, including credit card number, name and address
of the student must be encrypted so that the information cannot be read as it passes across theinternet.

Inform the student as to the period of time that the course is accessible from the date of purchase and
include a disclaimer that “the course is approved only until December 31, xxxx.” (This date may be updated
upon renewal of the provider and the course.).

Provide a completion certificate when a course is completed and the provider verified the completion.
Electronic certificates are sufficient.

Students must affirm that they, and only they, completed the course.

Include the ability to contact an instructor (i.e. automated e-mail).

47. Desirable items, but not mandatory:

Include a high level of interactivity (clicking on paths and navigation through an instructional sequence is
not representative of interactivity).
Include graphics that reinforce the content.

16



Prof ional A iation Membershi redi

48. A local, regional, state or national professional insurance association that is an approved provider pursuant to
Ohio Administrative Code 3901-5-02 may file a course application and roster for association membership credit.

49. The provider must file for approval of a course number to be shown on all certificates issued for association
membership credit prior to any participation activity that may result in association membership credit being
offered.

50. The local, regional, state or national professional insurance association must meet, at a minimum, the following
guidelines:

51.
52.

53.

54.

Must be organized as an association or corporation under state law;

Must be based on paid memberships which renew annually or biennially for an additional membership fee;
Must be organized for the express purpose of promoting the interests of insurance licensees or a class of
insurance licensees;

Local and regional associations must have been in existence for at least 7 years prior to applying for course
approval to offer association membership credit. State and national associations must have been in
existence for at least 5 years prior to applying for course approval to offer association membership credit;
Must have been formed for purposes other than providing CE credits to meet state educational
requirements;

Must have an active membership base of at least 150 individually licensed insurance agents who are dues
paying members of the association;

Must submit a course application on a form prescribed by the Department and shall include the appropriate
fee based on the fee option selected on the application. Course approval shall be authorized from the date
of approval until December 31% of the same year in which the course was approved;

The course must be renewed on an annual basis in order for the provider to continue offering association
membership credit. An application for renewal shall be made no later than November 30" each year on a
form prescribed by the Department and shall include the appropriate fee based on the fee option selected
on the renewal application.

The method of verification of qualified participation activity shall be determined by the provider.

The association is responsible for determining if participation in a meeting, program or affiliation qualifies for
association credit and for the number of appropriate association credits earned. If the association determines that
a requested activity does not qualify for association membership credit, the provider shall send a letter to the
licensee within 10 calendar days of the decision with an explanation as to why credit was notgranted.

The provider shall submit association membership credit requests to the Department on a form prescribed by the
Department pursuant to the requirements of Ohio Administrative Code 3901-5-04.

An agent may earn up to four CE credits per renewal cycle for membership and active participation in local,
regional, state or national professional insurance associations.
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Samples of Acceptable and Unacceptable Course Outlines

ACCEPTABLE COURSE OUTLINE

Course Title: DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS LIABILITY

25 minutes 8:30 - 8:55 I.  Recent history of D&O liability exposure
A. Trends in D&O claim frequency and severity
B. Major problem areas
1. Federal securities laws
2. Mergers/acquisitions
3. Pollution claims
4. Financial institutions claims
5. Third-party claims
C. Recent large settlements and judgments

25 minutes 8:55-9:20 II. Legal concepts underlying the D&O exposure

A. Basic legal duties of Directors and Officers
1. Duty of obedience
2. Duty of loyalty
3. Duty of care

B. To whom duties are owed

C. Common defenses

D. Recent legislation limiting director liability

9:20-9:30 BREAK

50 minutes 9:30-10:20 lll. Common exclusions

A. Public policy exclusions
1. Dishonesty
2. Gaining an illegal profit or advantage
3. Section 16(b) of the Securities Exchange Act
4. Return of excessive remuneration

B. Intended to be covered elsewhere
1. Libel and slander
2. Nuclear energy
3. Employment practice

10:20-10:30 BREAK
50 minutes 10:30 - 11:20 IV. Case study

Review of ABC Corporation’s stockholder lawsuit alleging mismanagement by the
corporation’s board of directors and senior management. Study includes review of
facts, company’s defense and participation in defense by the insurer.

Reasons for acceptability:

Sufficient detail on subject matter covered.

Sufficient detail on amount of time spent on each topic.

Insurance policy content is a topic that qualifies for credit.

Breaks are noted on the outline. Ten minutes per hour of instruction are recommended.
Case study is described. It is useful to include the case study materials with the outline.

oo
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SAMPLE UNACCEPTABLE COURSE OUTLINE

Course Title: ADVANCED WORKERS COMPENSATION SEMINAR

8:00 a.m. — noon I. Introduction

Il. Policy coverages
A. Benefits to injured workers
B. Employer liability

Ill. Writing workers’ compensation coverages with Middle Atlantic Life
and Casualty

A. Sales support to agents
B. Price and service comparisons to competitors

IV. Use of technology by agents to service clients
A. Wonder Wizard Claim Reporting Software
B. Visit the Middle Atlantic Life and Casualty interactive Web site

Working luncheon

Noon — 1:00 p.m. V. Reserving
1:00 p.m. —4:00 p.m. VI. Loss control activities
VIl. Case studies

VIIl. Panel discussion with experts

Deficiencies in this outline:

Insufficient detail on subject matter covered.

Insufficient detail on amount of time spent on each topic.

Sales and marketing topics are not eligible for credit.

Company-specific procedural or marketing content is not eligible for credit.

Training for office technology or use of the Internet is not eligible for credit.

Course material may not be presented concurrently with meals.

Where case studies are used, a description of the case study must be included with the course outline.

Where panel discussions are used, a description must be provided along with a description of the topic(s) to be
addressed and backgrounds of the panel members.

9. Breaks are not noted on the outline.

ONogOrWNE

Prometric will not approve any course that uses material found to contain significant or numerous errors. The goal is to
ensure that only correct information is presented to students.
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education

Application Selection Guidelines

Providers can apply for Ohio CE course approval using one of the following three application forms. The description
provided under each application type explains the proper form to use based on specific criteria.

Ohio Course Application (OHC-01)

Most providers use this course application to apply for Ohio CE course approval. Any organization wanting Ohio CE
course approval can use this course application.

Applications instructions are found on Page 21.

NAIC Uniform Continuing Education Reciprocity Course Filing Form

Ohio participates in the NAIC CE Reciprocity Agreement. Only providers NOT domiciled in Ohio may use this
application form. Prior to applying in Ohio, the provider must obtain CE course approval for the same course in their
domiciled state.

Applications instructions are found on Page 24.

Ohio CE Association Membership Credit Application (INS3207)

Local, regional, state or national professional insurance associations may use this course application to apply for
specialized CE course approval to obtain CE credit for member’s active participation in the following activities:

() Attending a formal meeting or a formal business program hosted by a local, regional, state or national
professional insurance association where attendance is verified,;

(i) Serving on and actively participating in a local, regional, state or national board or committee in affiliation
with the local, regional, state or national professional insurance association; or

(iii) Participating in industry, regulatory or legislative meetings held by or on behalf of a local, regional, state

or national professional insurance association.

Applications instructions are found on Page 29.
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Instructions for Completing the Ohio Course Application

Provider Name
Print or type the full legal name of the organization providing the course.
Provider Number

Enter the provider number assigned to your organization by Prometric. If you do not have a Prometric provider
number, leave this space blank.

Course Title

List the course name (maximum 40 characters). Course name must not be misleading and should represent the basic
course content. If applying under the instruction method of distance learning, the title of the course must clearly state
that it is a distance-learning course.

Course Number
Leave blank; Prometric will assign a number.
Course Concentration

Indicate which line of concentration this course will cover. Courses may not be approved for more than one line of
concentration per application. Additional details on course concentration can be found on page 11.

Fee Option
Select one of the following fee options (Use the optional Fee Worksheet on page 35 to prepare your payment):

» Flat fee $1,000 annually with unlimited course submissions

» Individual fee $100 per provider and $40 per course annually

» Limited fee  $25 per provider and $25 per course annually with a limit of 3 courses of no more than
3 credits each

Providers must elect their fee option status at the start of each year; if a provider changes its fee option status during
the year and a different fee is due, the new fee will be in addition to previous payments with no credit for the prior
payments.

Number of Credit Hours Requested

Enter the total number of hours being requested. Each course must be a minimum of one credit hour and shall be in
increments of whole or one-half credit hours.

Method of Instruction

Ohio law allows for 3 separate course types, Classroom, Distance Learning and Self-Study. Select the appropriate
method under which the course will be taught or administered. Additional details on course methods of instruction
can be found on page 11.

Course Difficulty

Select level of difficulty level of the course based on the definitions which can be found on page 11.
Open to the Public

Indicate if this course will be open to the public.

National Insurance Designation

Indicate if the course is part of a national insurance designation program. National course is a program of instruction
that leads to a national professional designation or is a course offered to individuals who must update their designation
once it is earned.

Prior Course Approval

Indicate whether Prometric has previously approved this course in Ohio or another state and, if applicable, provide
the Prometric-issued course number.
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Attachments
In addition to the course application, all course applications must include the following required attachments:

¢ Provide the purpose or objective of the course;
e Explain how the course material will increase the knowledge of insurance and related subjects for the
participants;
e Attach a comprehensive course outline and bibliography;
o Provide details of what will be taught. Annotate the outline to provide the information necessary to
evaluate the course properly. Specifically:

1. Specify the material to be covered in each time component. List the minutes of instruction devoted
to each component. The total number of minutes should equal the length of the course.

2. If it is a multiple-session designation course such as CPCU or LUTC, time annotations are not
necessary. Indicate how many sessions will meet and how long the sessions will be. Indicate which
sessions are for review. Review sessions will not be approved for CE credit.

3. Include case studies with the outline, if used. Credit will not be assigned for case studies without
detail.

4. Specify any components included on the outline for which you are not requesting credit. Also
specify any components that include a sales or marketing element.

¢ Additional course method requirements:

o Classroom and Distance Learning: The detailed outline must indicate the number of minutes of
instruction that will be offered for each section and the method of presentation. The total number of
minutes should equal the length of the course. Must also provide criteria used in selecting instructors.

o Self-Study (Non-Interactive): Include study materials, number of questions which will appear on the
student’s exam, exam procedures and sample exam with answer key.

o Self-Study (Interactive): Include study materials, access to view course online, number of questions
that appear at the end of each chapter or section, a sample of the questions and the answer key for
the sample questions.

Method(s) utilized to provide reasonable assurance of the participant’s identity;

Method(s) utilized to verify participant’s attendance, completion, or participation of the course;
Course Tuition and Refund policy; and

Promotional materials.

Certification

Certify by signing that all of the information on the form and in the attachments is true and correct, to the best of your
knowledge, and that this course will be conducted in accordance with all applicable Department policies and
guidelines and Ohio statutes and regulations.

Submission

Submit applications, outlines, supporting documentation and fees to Prometric by either secured email or mail.
Secured Email:
Submit the completed provider approval application and the appropriate fee in the form of credit card

authorization (American Express, Visa or MasterCard) to: ceprocessing@prometric.com

Mail:

Submit the completed provider approval application and the appropriate fee in the form of a company check,
cashier’s check, or money order to:

Prometric Operations Center
Attn: Continuing Education Processing
7941 Corporate Drive
Nottingham, MD 21236

If an incomplete application and/or incomplete attachments are received, a letter will be sent indicating the

areas that must be addressed. If the requested information is not received by the response due date, the
filing will be considered abandoned. All fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Ohio Course Application

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE. PHOTOCOPY AS NEEDED

Provider Name

Provider Number

Course Title (maximum 40 characters)

Course Number (Leave Blank)

Course Concentration: (Check one) Fee option: Number of
o General [ Title [ Bail Bond [Ethics [ Viatical Settlement | Fla_t . credit hours
oLTC-4 [LTC-8 [CAnnuites CNFIP Flood o Individual | requested:
o Limited

Method of Instruction: (Choose one method from the options below)
Classroom: Distance Learning: Self-Study:
How will this course be taught? How will this course be taught? How will this course be

o Lecture Webinar adm'”'Ste_red?

o Seminar/Workshop Virtual Class o Final Exam

oooogao

Internet Conference
Video/Teleconference
Other

o Online Interactive

Course Difficulty Level: [Basic

[Intermediate [ Advanced

Is this course open to the public?
o Yes [INo

Nationallnsurance Designation? [ ¥Yes [ No

If yes,Designationtype:

Has this course been previously approved by
Prometric in Ohio or another state?

If so, provide Prometric-issued course

[No
number.

oYes

Attachments:

Refer to course application instructions for list of required attachments that must be submitted with this
application. Applications submitted without required attachments will be deemed incomplete and will not be
processed until all required information is received.

[, the undersigned, do hereby certify that all information provided herein is true and correct.

Printed/Typed Name of
Authorized Provider Official

Signature Date

OHC-01 (rev 06/18)
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Instructions for Completing the NAIC CE Reciprocity Application for Ohio

To obtain Ohio approval, based on NAIC CE reciprocity, you must complete these steps:

N o g &

You must be approved as a provider in your state of domicile.

You must have received a course approval document from your state of domicile. This may either be a letter of
approval or the stamped approved application form that was filed in the resident state.

You must be approved as an Ohio provider. This is a separate application that must be completed before you
can apply for course approval. The approval is subject to an annual renewal each calendaryear.

You must complete the NAIC Uniform Continuing Education Reciprocity Course Filing Form for each course.
You must submit a copy of the course approval document from your home state.
You must pay the fee according to your provider fee option. See below for furtherinformation.

You must attach an outline of the approved course. Note: Ohio is not required to accept any topic, provider or
instructor that is not eligible for approval under its laws and regulations.

Submit applications, outlines, supporting documentation and fees to Prometric by either secured email or mail.

Secured Email:
Submit the completed provider approval application and the appropriate fee in the form of credit card

authorization (American Express, Visa or MasterCard) to: ceprocessing@prometric.com

Mail:
Submit the completed provider approval application and the appropriate fee in the form of a company check,
cashier’s check, or money order to:
Prometric Operations Center
Attn: Continuing Education Processing
7941 Corporate Drive
Nottingham, MD 21236

If an incomplete application and/or incomplete attachments are received, a letter will be sent indicating the areas
that must be addressed. If the requested information is not received by the response due date, the filing will be
considered abandoned. All fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.

Fees: Providers must elect status at start of year; if a provider changes its status during the year and a
different fee is due, the new fee will be in addition to previous payments with no credit for the prior payments.

Fee Option
Select one of the following fee options (Use the Fee Worksheet on Page 35 to prepare your payment):

= Flat fee $1,000 annually with unlimited course submissions

» |ndividual fee $100 per provider and $40 per course annually

» Limited fee  $25 per provider and $25 per course annually with a limit of 3 courses of no more than
3 credits each
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INSTRUCTION SHEET
NOTE: This course may NOT be advertised or offered as approved in the state to which application has been
made until approval has been received from the insurance department.

1.1f you are a PROVIDER filing for approval from the Home State:

1.1 Complete all the fields in the “Provider Information” section except “Reciprocal State” and the adjacent “Provider
#” fields.
1.2 Complete the Course Information Section.

1.3 In the “Credit Hours Requested and Course/Hours Decision” section, complete the “Hrs. Requested by Provider’
columns, detailing in the respective columns the number of hours for sales — and marketing-related instruction and the
number of hours for other insurance-related instruction. Please note the following:

13.1 When using this application, which is governed by the NAIC CE Reciprocity Agreement in conjunction with
‘states’ laws, only whole numbers of credit hours will be approved — partial hours will be eliminated.

1.3.2 States that approve sales/marketing topics will consider the hours in the “sales/Mktg” column and the hours
in the “Insurance” column when deciding the number of hours to approve. States that do not permit sales/marketing
topics as part of continuing education credit hours will only consider the hours shown in the “Insurance” column when
making their credit-hour approval decisions.

1.3.3 Contact the individual state to determine whether there are any state specific requirements for submitting
courses.
1.4 Submit the application form along with required course materials, a detailed course outline, instructor information,

if required, and the required course application fee.

2.1f you are a PROVIDER filing for approval from a Reciprocal State:

2.1 Make a sufficient number of photocopies of the Home State approval form to enable you to submit a copy of this
application to each of the Reciprocal States where you are seeking credit.

2.2 On each application, write the Reciprocal State and the provider number assigned to you by that state in the
“Reciprocal State” and adjacent “Provider #” fields.

2.3 Send the CER application, home state approval, if home state issues one, a detailed course outline, and the
required fee to the reciprocal state. If this is a National Course *, the Providers will be allowed to submit an agenda that
must include date, time, each topic and event location in lieu of a detailed course outline.

2.4 Subsequent national course offerings should only be reported for events that are conducted in the “home” state.

* National Course is defined as an approved program of instruction in insurance related topics, offered by an approved provider,
and leads to a national professional designation or is a course offered to individuals who must update their designation once it is
earned.

3.1f you are the HOME STATE or designated representative of the Home State:

3.1 After reviewing the course materials, complete the “Hrs Approved by Home State” column.
3.1.1 Multiple types of credit and delivery methods can be approved using one CER Form.
3.2 Enter the date of approval, course # assigned, course approval expiration date. Sign the CER Form OR attach the

home state approval form.
3.3 If the course is not approved, note it on the bottom of the CER Form.

4.1f you are the RECIPROCAL STATE or designated representative of the Reciprocal State:
4.1 After reviewing “Hrs approved by Home State” complete the “Hrs Approved by Reciprocal State”.
4.1.1 ltis unnecessary for each State to perform a substantive review of continuing education courses that have
previously been approved by the Home State.
4.1.2 Reciprocal states cannot award different credits than the home state unless certain aspects are not allowed

by state law.
4.2 Enter the date of approval, course number assigned, course approval expiration date. Sign the CER Form OR
attach the reciprocal state approval form.
4.3 If the course is not approved, note it on the bottom of the CER Form.

4.4 The reciprocal state agrees to approve the CER submission within 30 days of receipt.

Substantive Review — A thorough review of the course to confirm compliance with the home state’s applicable laws and regulations for the
approval of insurance continuing education. The review includes a determination whether the:

1. Subject matter meets the criteria for insurance education, to include approvable and non-approvable topic guidelines;
2. Provider has procedures for reviewing course material in order to keep it up to date and timely;

3. Course design and instructional strategies are appropriate for the method of delivery;

4. Credit hours are properly calculated based on instruction method;
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5. Criteria for completing the course meets the standards applicable to the instruction method.

*Drafting Note: The instructor information matrix was eliminated in 2018 as this information should be readily available on
individual state/jurisdiction websites.

26



NAIC

National Association of

insurance Commissioners UNIFORM CONTINUING EDUCATION RECIPROCITY COURSE FILING FORM
Please clearly print or type information on this form. Thank you for helping us promptly process your application.

Provider Information

Provider Name

FEIN # (if applicable)

Contact Person

E-mail Address of Contact Person

Fax Number
ext. ( ) -

Phone Number

( ) -

Mailing Address

Submitter Name (if different from provider contact person above)

Submitter Phone Number

E-mail Address of Submitter

Course Information

Course Title

Date of Course Offering (if applicable)

Non-Contact / Asynchronous*
Self — Study

[J Correspondence
[J On-Line Training (Self-Study)
[J Recorded Media

] other

Word Count

Mandatory Run-time
(Interactive Components of Course)

Method of Instruction

Existing Course Number (if applicable)

Contact / Synchronous*

Classroom

] Seminar/Workshop

1 Other

Webinar

[] Virtual Class/Webinar/Video Conference

1 Other

Measurement used for successful completion: [1 Attendance [] Final Exam [1 Other
Is this course open to the public? [ Yes 1 No

National Designation? [J Yes ] No

If yes, Designation Type:

Difficulty (Check): [ Basic L1 Intermediate [] Advanced
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Credit Hours Requested and Course/Hours Decision

Course Concentration

Hrs Requested by Hrs Approved by Hrs Approved by
Provider Home State Reciprocal State

Sales/Mktg Sales/Mktg Sales /Mktg Insurance

A. Producer Topics:
(Circle Appropriate Course Concentration)

Insurance Insurance

Life / Health

Property / Casualty/Personal Lines

Ethics

General (Applies to all lines)

Insurance Laws

Other (LTC, NFIP, Viaticals, Annuities, etc.)

Total Hours

B. Adjuster Topics
(Circle Appropriate Course Concentration)

General

Workers Comp

Ethics

Other

Total Hours

C. Public Adjuster
(Circle Appropriate Course Concentration)

eneral

Ethics

ther

Total Hours

Information

Below is for Regulator Use Only

Approval Date

Course Number assigned

Course approval expiration date

Signature of Home State
Regulator/Representative OR ATTACH
Provider Home State Approval Form

Signature of Reciprocal State
Regulator/Representative OR ATTACH
Reciprocal State Approval Form
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Instructions for Completing the Course Application for
CE Association Membership Credit

A local, regional, state or national professional insurance association that is an approved provider pursuant to Ohio
Administrative Code 3901-5-02 may file a course application and roster for association membership credit. You may
not advertise that an agent may receive credit for simply becoming a member of the association.

Provider Name
Print or type the full legal name of the organization providing the course.

Provider Number
Enter the provider number assigned to your organization by Prometric.

Number of Credit Hours Requested
Enter the total number of hours being requested. The maximum number of credits allowed is 4.

Fee Option
Select one of the following fee options:
= Flatfee $1,000 annually with unlimited course submissions

» Individual fee $100 per provider and $40 per course annually

Certification
Certify by signing that all of the information on the form and in the attachments is true and correct, to the best of your
knowledge, and that your association has met, at a minimum, all of the following qualifications:

a) Must be organized as an association or corporation under state law;

b) Must be based on paid memberships which renew annually or biennially for an additional membershipfee;
c) Must be organized for the express purpose of promoting the interests of insurance licensees or a class of
insurance licensees, including those classes based on license type, gender, religious or minority interest;

d) Must have been in existence for at least five (5) years prior to applying for course approval to offer association
membership credit if a state or national association or must have been in existence for at least seven (7) years
prior to applying for course approval to offer association membership credit if a local or regional association;

e) Must have been formed for purposes other than providing CE credits to meet state educational requirements;
and

f) Must have an active membership base of at least 150 individually licensed insurance agents who are dues
paying members of the association.

Attachments

1. Proof of organization under Ohio law;
2. Membership requirements; and
3. Association mission statement and purpose of existence.

Submission
Submit application, supporting documentation and fees to Prometric by either secured email or malil.

Secured Email:
Submit the completed provider approval application and the appropriate fee in the form of credit card

authorization (American Express, Visa or MasterCard) to: ceprocessing@prometric.com

Mail:
Submit the completed provider approval application and the appropriate fee in the form of a company check,
cashier’s check, or money order to:
Prometric Operations Center
Attn: Continuing Education Processing
7941 Corporate Drive
Nottingham, MD 21236

If an incomplete application and/or incomplete attachments are received, a letter will be sent indicating the areas that must be
addressed. If the requested information is not received by the response due date, the filing will be considered abandoned. All
fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.
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CE Association Membership Credit Application

Licensing Division Ohio Department of Insurance
50 W. Town St., 3rd Fl. Mike DeWine — Governor

Suite 300 ) ; )
Columbus, OH 43215 Tynesia Dorsey — Interim Director

(614) 644-2665 . .
Fax # (614) 387-0051 Course Application for

www.insurance.ohio.gov CE ASSOCiation Membership Credlt

Provider Name: Provider Number:

Course Title: Course Number: (leave blank)

Association Membership Credit

Number of Credits (Maximum allowed is 4: Fee Option:

[ ]Flat [ ] Individual

By signing below I certify that the local, regional, state or national professional insurance association has met, at the minimum, the
following qualifications:

(a) Must be organized as an association or corporation under state law;
(b) Must be based on paid memberships which renew annually or biennially for an additional membership fee.

(c) Must be organized for the express purpose of promoting the interests of insurance licensees or a class of insurance licensees,
including those classes based on license type, gender, religious, or minority interest.

(d) Must have been in existence for at least five (5) years prior to applying for course approval to offer association membership
credit if a state or national association or must have been in existence for at least seven (7) years prior to applying for course
approval to offer association membership credit if a local or regional association.

(e) Must have been formed for purposes other than providing CE credits to meet state educational requirements.

(f) Must have an active membership base of at least 150 individually licensed insurance agents who are dues paying members of
the association.

Print/Typed Name of Authorized Provider Official Date

( )

Signature of Authorized Provider Official Telephone Number

Attach the following information with this course application:
e  Proof of organization under Ohio law
e  Membership requirements

e Association’s mission statement and purpose of existence

INS3207
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Dispute/Appeal Procedures

A CE provider may dispute a decision regarding a course or provider application. If a disagreement arises, the
Department recommends the following procedures be followed in the sequence listed below.

. Call Prometric to discuss the reasonfor reconsideration of the decision with a CE evaluator/auditor by phone.

Prometric 800-742-8732.

. If the dispute cannot be resolved by phone, write to Prometric with the reason(s) for disagreement and
reconsideration of the decision. Include any supporting documentation and justification. Prometric will respond
to the request within 15 business days of receipt. Send requests to:

Prometric Operations Center
Attn: Continuing Education Processing
7941 Corporate Drive
Nottingham, MD 21236

Email: CE-Appeals@prometric.com

If you disagree with Prometric’s response to your written request, you should then address your request, in
writing, to the Ohio Department of Insurance. State your reason for disagreeing with Prometric’s response.
Include copies of any correspondence, any supporting documentation and justification. Send your request within
30 days of receiving Prometric’s response. The Department will respond to the request within 15 days of receipt.
Send requests to:

License Division
Attention: Education Supervisor
Ohio Department of Insurance
50 W. Town Street, Third Floor — Suite 300
Columbus, OH 43215
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Requirements for Publication/Course Author Credit

Ohio CE rules provide for the following:

A person may receive up to 10 hours of CE credit per reporting period for the publication of articles or books
authored by such person. Articles and books must deal with matters directly related to the business of insurance.
An article must be published in a generally known and recognized state or national publication. The extent to
which such credit may be given shall be at the discretion of the superintendent. A request for such credit must be
made in writing and must be accompanied by proof of authorship and publication.

CE credit may be allowed for the authors of written materials used in approved CE courses on a one-time per
course basis. The author will be allowed the number of CE credit hours for which the course was approved. If
there are multiple authors of the written course materials, no author will receive more than his or her pro rata
share as determined by the provider. The total number of hours received by all authors for a course cannot exceed
the total number of hours for which the course is approved. A request for such credit must be made in writing and
must be accompanied by proof of authorship.

A person who authors materials for an approved course and teaches the same course in a compliance period
may receive credit for authoring the written materials or instructing the course, but not for both activities in any
one compliance period.
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program
Instructions for Completing the Publication/Course Author Credit Application

Agent Name and National Producer Number (NPN)
Print or type the full legal name and the NPN of the author.

Address
Provide the author’s complete physical street address, including ZIP code.

Phone Number
Provide the author’s day-time phone number.

Email Address
Provide the author’'s email address.

Prior Course Approval
Indicate whether Prometric has previously approved this course in Ohio or another state and, if applicable, provide
the Prometric-issued course number.

Course Name
Provide the name of the course.

Course Number
Indicate the course number. If requesting publication credit, leave this space blank.

Chapter or Article Name
Provide the name of the chapter or article.

Publisher and Publication Date
Indicate the publisher and publication date.

Book or Magazine Name
Give the name of the book or magazine.

Attachments

Include the following documents with this application:

1. Proof of authorship;

2. If amagazine article, an original copy of the magazine;

3. If abook or book chapter, an original copy of the book (it will be returned).

Certification
You must certify that the information on this application is true and accurate.

Submission
Submit the application and attachments to Prometric. If approved, you will receive a request for payment, indicating
the number of credits awarded and the amount of payment due. Credit will not be recorded in your CE files until
payment is received.
Prometric
ATTN: Continuing Education Processing
7941 Corporate Drive
Nottingham, MD 21236
or

ceprocessing@prometric.com

If an incomplete application and/or incomplete attachments are received, a letter will be sent indicating the areas that must be
addressed. If the requested information is not received by the response due date, the filing will be considered abandoned. All
fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Publication/Course Author Credit Application

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE. PHOTOCOPY AS NEEDED.

Agent Name NPN

Street Address Phone Number

City State ZIP Code

Email Address

Has this publication/course been previously approved by If so, provide Prometric-issued course number.
Prometric in Ohio or another state? oYes No

Course Name

Course Number (Leave blank if requesting publication credit)

Chapter or Article Name

Publisher

Publication Date

Attachments:

Refer to publication/course author instructions for list of required attachments that must be submitted with this
application. Applications submitted without required attachments will be deemed incomplete and will not be processed
until all required information is received.

I, the undersigned, do hereby certify that all information provided herein is true and correct.

Signature

Date

If approved, you will receive a request for payment, indicating the number of credits awarded and the amount of payment due.

Credit will not be recorded in your CE files until payment is received.

OHPA-01 (rev 08/13)
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Fee Worksheet

This form is for convenience in preparing submissions. Using it is optional.

Provider Fees (Choose one) Subtotal
e Flat Fee $
o ($1,000 annually with unlimited course submissions)
¢ Individual
o (%100 fee per provider and $40 per course) $
e Limited
o (%25 fee per provider and $25 per course) $

Course Fees
(Indicate number of courses you are applying for - no course fees are required if you are a flat fee provider)

Individual Course Approval @ $40 $

Limited Course Approval @ $25 $
(Limit of 3 courses of no more than 3 credits each)

TOTAL $
One check may be written to cover all fee types.

Payment may be made by check or money order payable to Prometric.

Prometric
ATTN: Continuing Education Processing
7941 Corporate Drive
Nottingham, MD 21236

You may pay using American Express, Visa or MasterCard.

Any communications that contain credit card information should be sent to the following email

address: ceprocessing@prometric.com

Card number:

Name on card:

Expiration date:
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education

Instructions for Schedule Reporting

Classroom and Distance Learning courses require schedule submission prior to the offering of a course.

lendar rior to the offering of the cour

Providers are required to submit course schedule offerings and course rosters using the Department’s Education
Provider Portal. Please see the Education Provider Portal User Guide for more information. The Education Provider
Portal User Guide can be found on Prometric’s website at www.prometric.com or on the Department’s website at
www.insurance.ohio.gov. Please see page 41 for additional information on the Provider Portal.

For course offering schedules, the provider must provide the date, start and end time and location of each course.

The provider must notify the Department in writing immediately upon cancellation or change to any course, including
but not limited to the date, time or location. Changes to course schedule offerings may be made in the Education
Provider Portal by the provider.

An approved course must be in session on the date(s) scheduled, during the specified hours and at the designated
location unless cancelled in accordance with Ohio rules or unless notification of change is given to the superintendent
in accordance with Ohio’s requirements.

Failure to follow Ohio’s rules and regulations may result in administrative
action. Please see page 44 for more information.
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education

Instructions for Roster Reporting

Rosters must be submitted within 15 calendar days of the course’s completion. The reporting fee is $1.00 per

credit hour for each student on the roster.

Providers are required to submit course schedule offerings and course rosters using the Department’s Education
Provider Portal. Please see the Education Provider Portal User Guide for more information. The Education Provider
Portal User Guide can be found on Prometric’s website at www.prometric.com or on the Department’s website at
www.insurance.ohio.gov. Please see page 41 for additional information on the Provider Portal.

The Department will invoice each provider on a monthly basis for any credit submitted during the previous month.
You may not submit payment until the invoice has been issued by the Department. You may pay the invoice by paper
check or money order made payable to the State of Ohio Treasurer by mail directly to the Department at the address
below or by electronic check or by Visa or MasterCard through the Department’'s EPay System. More information
regarding payment is included in the back of the Education Provider Portal User Guide.

Ohio Department of Insurance
ATTN: Fiscal Division
50 W. Town Street, 3 Floor
Suite 300
Columbus, OH 43215

Partial Credit

Partial credits, rounded down in one-hour increments only, may be given for classroom courses only at the discretion
of the provider. However, the course patrticipation fee must be paid as if the agent has attended the entire class.
When submitting the roster through the Education Provider Portal, the provider will enter the correct number of
completed hours.

Instructor Credit

Instructors may be awarded credit in an amount equal to two (2) times the number of hours actually spent instructing
a course. To report credits for instructors, mark the instructor box when entering roster information via the ODI
Provider Portal. If a course has multiple instructors, no instructor may receive credit for more than his or her pro rata
share. Credit will be given only once per course per renewal cycle.

Duplicate Course Entry
In the event an agent completes the same course more than once in a renewal cycle, the provider is still required to
submit a roster for that agent. The provider, however, needs to change the number of completed hours to zero (0).

Failure to follow Ohio’s rules and regulations may result in administrative action.
The provider’s failure to timely file an attendance roster may result in denial of CE
credit for those agents who attended the course. Please see page 44 for more
information.
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SAMPLE
SIGN-IN / SIGN-OUT FORM

SAMPLE SIGN-IN/SIGN-OUT SHEET

Provider Name Provider ID Course Date
Course Name Course ID
Student Name (Print) Student Time Signature Time Signature
NPN In Out
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SAMPLE

AFFIDAVIT FOR SELF-STUDY COURSE

OF PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY
(To be signed by Student)

| declare that | personally completed this exam without the outside assistance of any person(s) or material(s).

Name of Student (Print) Name of Course

National Producer Number (NPN) Name of Provider

Address where exam was taken

Date exam was taken Beginning time Ending time

Signature (sign in ink only) Date
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SAMPLE
COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATE

OHIO DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION
COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATE

Name of Student:

National Producer Number (NPN):

This certifies that the individual named has successfully
completed the course requirements for:

Course Name:

Course Number:

Number of Credits:

Date of Course Completion:

Provider Name:

Provider Number:

Phone Number (including area code):

Signature of Authorized Provider Official:

Title:

Date:

Providers may create their own forms for course completion certificates, provided all of the same information
indicated above is clearly reflected on the certificate.
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Education Provider Portal Information

The Education Provider Portal is an application designed to help Education Providers record and manage course
credit information for Ohio’s insurance agents. All information received through the Education Provider Portal is
automatic and instantly downloaded into an agent’s licensing record andtranscript.

The Education Provider Portal User guide is available on the Department’s website.

Before you can begin using the portal however, there are some steps that must be taken to prepare you for using
the portal. These steps include:

Step #1: Creating an ODI Gateway account. “This provides access to the Education Provider application.”
Step #2: Log into the Gateway and associate yourself.

Step #3: You’re ready to begin using the portal to upload and manage schedule and roster information!

Please note that Gateway account information MAY NEVER be shared. Each person using the ODI
Gateway to report schedules and rosters must have their own unique account.

Failure to follow this security measure may result in an administrative action, including, but not limited
to, a fine and/or removal of provider and course authorization in Ohio.
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Overview of Prometric’s Course Review Process

Prometric reviews each course application against the standards established by the Ohio Department of
Insurance to determine whether the course is acceptable.

Prometric reviews the application and supporting documentation/attachments, identifies the course type and
content, assures providers maintain a quality curriculum and is supported by qualified instructors (if
applicable), reviews the comprehensive course outline, and reviews the content of course materials and the
examinations (if applicable). Prometric also reviews each course for its evaluation and assessment
methods, evaluates course length, material relevance and correctness, and justification of the number of
hours requested by taking into consideration the subject and the level of difficulty.

Upon Prometric’s review of the course application, the provider will receive one of the below types of letters
detailing the results of the final application determination:

1) Approval of course for full credits requested

Letter will include:

e Approval confirmation;

e Approved title of course;

e Date of course approval;

e Assigned course number; and

e Approved credits hours for the course.
2) Approval of course for credits different from requested

Letter will include:

e Approval confirmation;

e Approved title of course;

e Date of course approval;

e Assigned course number;

e Approved credits hours for the course;

e Explanation as to the difference in approved credit hours.
3) Denial of course

Letter will include:

¢ Denial notification;

e Date of course denial;

¢ Explanation as reason why the course was NOT approved; and

e Instructions on Appeal process.
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQS)

How long does it take for a course application to be approved?

Prometric will review course applications within 30 calendar days of receipt. Providers are encouraged to submit
course applications as early as possible.

How will I know when a course has been approved?

Prometric will mail you a course approval certificate to notify you that your course was approved. The approval
certificate will contain the course 1.D. number as assigned by Prometric, along with the number of credits and course
category that the course was approved for.

My course was denied. How do | appeal?

The first step to appeal is to call Prometric to discuss the decision by phone at 800-742-8732. If the dispute cannot
be resolved by phone, you may submit a written request to Prometric to appeal as outlined on page 31 of this packet.
If you disagree with Prometric’s response to your written request, you should then address your request, in writing,
to the Ohio Department of Insurance.

How and when do | notify the Department of a course schedule?

Providers must submit the date, time and location of each classroom and distance learning course at least 10
calendar days prior to course presentation electronically through the Provider Portal. Submitting a copy of the
course schedule with your course application does not qualify as submitting the course schedule. The provider must
immediately notify the Department of course cancellation or any changes in the date, time and/or location. Portal
information may be found on page 41 of this packet.

What is required on sign-in/sign-out sheets for classroom courses?

A sign-in/sign-out sheet is required for all classroom courses. The attendance sheet must include the course name
and number, the date and time of the offering and the exact time of arrival and departure of each attendee along with
each attendee’s signature and National Producer Number. Each approved course must have its own sign-in/sign-out
sheet. Providers offering multiple approved courses on the same day must maintain separate sign-in/sign-out sheets
for each approved course. Seminars/Conference that are approved as one course, but offers break-out sessions
must have separate sign-in/sign-out sheets for each session, if not all sessions received CE approval. A sample sign-
in/sign-out sheet may be found on page 38 of this packet.

Do Self-Study Courses require a proctored final exam?

There are two types of self-study courses, interactive and non-interactive. Interactive online courses must contain a
series of questions after each unit/chapter. 100% of the questions must be answered correctly prior to proceeding to
the next unit/chapter. The material can be reviewed while answering questions.

Non-interactive self-study courses do not require chapter quizzes but do require a non-proctored final exam upon
course completion. The student may not have access to course material or reference material during the final exam.
Credit may only be awarded if the student receives a grade of 70 percent orgreater on the examination.

How and when do | a submit course roster to the Department?

Providers are required to report course completion rosters within 15 calendar days of course completion electronically
through the Department’'s Education Provider Portal. The roster must include the name and National Producer
Number (NPN) of each student and the number of requested credits per student. Portal information may be found on
page 41 of this packet.

How and when do | renew?

The approval of a provider and course shall be from the date of approval through December 315 of the same year in
which approval was granted. Prometric will send renewal notifications to providers no later than September 30" each
year. All requests for provider and course renewals must be completed and returned to Prometric no later than
November 30" each year. Any provider who does not timely renew and whose authority has expired must submit a
new provider and course application(s) and required attachments before offering or holding any course(s) after the
expiration date. Providers must not hold a course or allow for completion of a course after the license expiration date.
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Ohio Department of Insurance Continuing Education Program

Violations and Penalties

Pursuant to Rule 3901-5-05 of Chapter 3901-5 of the Ohio Administrative code, the following violations and penalties are
established:

(A) Purpose—The purpose of this rule is to identify conduct related to continuing education that violates Ohio statutes or rules
and may subject a continuing education provider or agent to administrative actions.

(B) Authority—This rule is promulgated pursuant to the authority vested in the superintendent under section 3901.041 and
3905.486 of the Revised Code.

(C) Providers—The following are violations of the pre-licensing education and continuing education statutes and rules:

@)

)

@)

(4)

®)
(6)

()

(8)

)

(10)
11)

(12)
(13)

(14)

(15)

(16)

Making any false, misleading or deceptive statement or representation about the status of a course approval, the
number of hours for which a course is approved, or any other statement about a course or provider. The penalty for a
single violation is a forfeiture of $500.

The use of an unqualified instructor. The penalty for a single violation is a forfeiture of$500.

Failure to maintain all necessary records for the required time periods. The penalty for a single violation is a forfeiture
of $100.

The use, submission or filing of any document for the purpose of complying with the agent education statutes and
rules, or in responding to any inquiry from the superintendent concerning agent education, when the provider knows
or should know that the document, or any part of it, is false or deceptive. The penalty for a single violation is a forfeiture
of $1,000.

Failure to use the approved course outline. The penalty for a single violation is a forfeiture of $100.

Failure to notify the superintendent of changes to any course, previously approved prior to course offering. The penalty
for a single violation is a forfeiture of $100.

Failure to conduct the approved course for the full time, as specified in the course application. The penalty for a single
violation is a forfeiture of $100.

Failure to monitor course attendance, course participation or completion of examination. The penalty for a single
violation is a forfeiture of $500.

Failure to comply with applicable Americans with Disabilities Act and Equal Employment Opportunity regulations. The
penalty for a single violation is a forfeiture of $100.

Failure to provide timely refunds to participants when required. The penalty for a single violation is a forfeiture of $100.

Failure to file or the late filing of any form or required information other than attendance roster. The penalty for a single
violation is a forfeiture of $100.

Failure to timely file an attendance roster. The penalty for a single violation is a forfeiture of $500.

Failure to conduct a course as it was approved or maintain course integrity. The penalty for a single violation is a
forfeiture of $500.

Obtaining the attendance or enrollment of licensees or students by actual or implied coercion. The penalty for a single
violation is a forfeiture of $500.

The failure of a provider to timely provide a certificate of completion to an attendee or the failure of a provider to provide
an attendee with an accurate certificate of completion. The penalty for a single violation is a forfeiture of $200.

Failure to accurately report the actual number of course hours attended for each individual. The penalty for a single
violation is a forfeiture of $500.
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(18)

(19)

(20)

Failure to properly determine active participation in a local, regional, state or national professional insurance
association activity. The penalty for a single violation is a forfeiture of$500.

Advertising that an agent may receive credit for simply becoming a member of an association. The penalty for a single
violation is a forfeiture of $1,000.

Failure to provide a written response to the superintendent within 21 days after receipt of any written inquiry from the
superintendent. The penalty for a single violation is a forfeiture of $50.

Failure to report disciplinary action taken against the provider’s authority by any regulatory body which grants a license,
registration or permission to conduct business. The penalty for a single violation is a forfeiture of $200.

(21) The violation of any provision of 3901-5-01, 3901-5-02, 3901-5-03, 3901-5-04, 3901-5-06 or 3905-5-07 of the

Administrative Code may be grounds for termination of the provider's authority to offer pre-license courses or
continuing education courses in this state.

(D) Applicants and Agents—The following are violations of the pre-licensing education and continuing education statutes and

rules:

1)

@)

@)
(4)

Q)

(6)

The use, submission or filing of any document or record for the purpose of complying with the agent education statutes
and rules, or in responding to any inquiry from the superintendent concerning agent education, when the person knows
or should know that the document or record, or any part of the document or record, is false or deceptive.

Obtaining, accepting or using any evidence of completion or participation from a provider when the person has not
attended or completed the course or the number of hours identified on the certificate.

Cheating or using unauthorized materials or receiving unauthorized assistance during an examination

Assisting another person in complying with the agent education requirements when the person knows or should know
that the assistance is a violation of the agent education statutes andrules.

Disruptive, threatening or deceptive behavior during a course or examination shall be grounds for termination of
participation and shall be grounds for the superintendent to refuse course completion credit or a passing grade of an
examination for those individuals responsible for the disruptive, threatening or deceptive behavior.

The use of any unauthorized telecommunication device, including but not limited to, cellular phones and “PDA’s”,
examination notes and study guides or conversations with unauthorized persons during an examination or authorized
break from a state insurance licensure examination. The penalty for a single violation shall be grounds for the
superintendent to refuse to issue any license as an insurance agent or assess a forfeiture of up to $500.

(E) Application of penalties

@)

)

The superintendent may suspend, revoke, non-renew or deny authority to any pre-licensing education or continuing
education provider who has committed multiple violations of paragraph (C) of this rule. This penalty may be in addition
to the forfeitures levied pursuant to paragraph (C) of thisrule.

The superintendent may, once a violation of paragraph (C) or (D) of this rule requiring a forfeiture has been found,
suspend all or part of such forfeiture, upon a showing of mitigating circumstances.

(F) Severability

If any paragraph, term or provision of this rule is adjudged invalid for any reason, the judgment shall not affect, impair or invalidate
any other paragraph, term or provision of this rule, but the remaining paragraphs, terms and provisions shall be and continue in
full force and effect.
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